Who knew what GREAT, AMAZING people I would meet in the soberverse?

20 Sep

7:52 pm

Hi, friends! I just wanted to say, thanks to all my men and women out there who have been supporting me on my sober “journey.” Yes, YOU GUYS ROCK.

I entered this “soberverse” feeling pretty scared, and alone, and completely overwhelmed by my desire to both quit drinking and keep sucking it down. I had so many conflicting thoughts and feelings surrounding the process. Now that I’m well into it (well, save for two nights, I’ve been sober since June 12th — I know, I know, but, it does count for me!)…I feel…friend-full. Befriended. Supported. And it’s because of all of YOU — people I never would have met if I hadn’t started this blog and people who I’m SO GLAD to have on my side.

Whenever I check my Reader, I see posts by all y’all, and you know what? YOU GUYS ROCK. I see so many of you making progress, falling down (or tripping) but getting back on that horse. And, that’s what it’s all about! I see so much strength, and it gives me inspiration. So, thank you all. (And, thank God(dess) for my Unicorn with Sparkly Teeth, who is pulling my water wagon tonight. I’m sure she’ll get tired soon, at which point I’ll be wanting to drink wanting to drink wanting to drink, but at least for now, she’s flashing a tooth at me.)

(Is this gratitude talking, or my third Diet Coke of the day (must stop)? Who cares…)

On that note, I’m going to go back to posting shit for sale on Craigslist. I think I’ve finally decided to END MY TENURE here as of September 30th. What’s up after that? Probably a trip “home home” to see my dad [Corn Belt state], then back to the [beautiful island where I now live]. Stoked!

Coming in a later post tonight (hopefully): another “wow” moment on the acupuncture table. (Not to worry, nothing as tiring or melodramatic as the last few posts, but still worth sharing…as it pertains to drinking.)

4 Responses to “Who knew what GREAT, AMAZING people I would meet in the soberverse?”

  1. Belle (Tired2012) September 21, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    you might be glad for us, but i’m glad for you 🙂 you share honesty, courage, grit, and wit. everything i like in a friend!

    • Drunky Drunk Girl September 21, 2012 at 11:25 pm #

      Thanks! 🙂 I don’t feel very fierce today, but so it goes… Must get back on that unicorn!

  2. Just Some Woman September 21, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

    No, thank YOU. I look forward to your posts. You’re figuring out that one recovering alcoholic needs the company of one (or lots) of recovering alcoholics. That is the foundation for AA…..which is the only way THIS drunk can manage this disease!

    • Drunky Drunk Girl September 21, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      YES. After falling off the wagon last night, I’m realizing more and more that part of my problem with drinking/obsessing over drinking is that I don’t admit to needing help and then don’t ask for it — precisely what I think I need to do. Will blog about the falling off later, when my brain turns back on (fuck hangovers), so that my readers don’t have to “go there!” That is the only good that can come of this, as far as I can see… Thanks for reading and for being there. It HELPS.

Leave a Reply

parking lot pushups

Because I will be stronger.

Dorothy Recovers

An evolving tale of a new life in recovery

Lose 'da Booze

MY Journey towards Losing 'da Booze Voice within and regaining self-control

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Laurie Works

My Resilience Story

Drunky Drunk Girl

A blog about getting sober

New Adventures of the Old Me...

A Woman,Mother, and Wife, makeing sense of life...

The Soberist Blog

a life in progress ... sans alcohol

soberjessie

Getting sober to be a better mother, wife, and friend

mentalrollercoaster

the musings and reflections of one person's mental amusement park

TRUDGING THROUGH THE FIRE

-Postcards from The Cauldron

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

changingcoursenow

A woman's journey to happiness and health

Sober Identity

Sober Identity #Life Coach #The 50+ Years #Striving #Thriving #38-Empowering Affirmations #"Emerge: Growing From Addiction-Starter's Guide" #AfterRehabCoaching #Motivate

WELL CALL ME CRAZY

This WordPress.com site is about hope, trauma, hypocrisy, and transformation.

A Canvas Of The Minds

A unique collaboration of different perspectives on mental health and life

Growing Up Chaotic

A blog about getting sober

married to an alcoholic

life with an alcoholic husband

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

ChardonNo!

Original Goal: 100 Days of Sobriety - New Goal: 200 Days

Sober Grace

Finding and practicing grace in recovery

IRETA

Institute for Research, Education & Training in the Addictions

Mended Musings

Healing, Feeling, Thriving

Brandy Shock Treatment

Therapy for an alcoholic

Stinkin' Thinkin'

muckraking the 12-step industry

Sober Politico

Young and Sober, Surrounded by Egos and Alcohol

Carrie On Sober

A blog to help keep me on the right track...

My Healing Recovery

Healing from the inside

Soberbia

A blog about getting sober

Mrs D Is Going Without

A blog about getting sober

The Sober Journalist

A blog about quietly getting sober

mysterygirlunknown

My Desire for a New and Better Life

Message in a Bottle

Swimming in Big Chunks of Truth

Arash Recovery

My journey to get back on my feet

Mished-up

Mixed-up, Mashed-up, Mished-up.

The Party Doesn't Leave the Girl

a memoir of sobriety...today.

Good2begone

I'm not really here.

Below Her Means

a little of everything.

themiracleisaroundthecorner

There are no coincidences.

The Red Sox Saved My Life

A peek into the recovery of another drunk.

1800ukillme

Just another WordPress.com site

The Existential Addict

One choice at a time...

Al K Hall-ic Anonymous

Get With The Program.

thinkingaboutgratitude

How gratitude has helped me stay sober, "one day at a time."

Living Life In Control

A journey into taking control of life and seeing what's on the other side of the mountain

A Life Less Scripted

Adventure Travel

