180 days: check

15 Sep

12:16 am

Well, folks, I made it. 180 days as of yesterday (September 14th), which was about 16 minutes ago. And, you know what? I didn’t even think about it or remember what day it was until I was well into my shower this morning (which happened early because, you got it, I didn’t drink last night and I wasn’t hung over!)!

I am good and fine and thinking about so much besides drinking, or not drinking. My boyfriend and I are in Florida, and we just spent the past three days hitting Disney World and visiting his parents. Tomorrow will be another EASY SOBER DAY with thoughts of, well, things that come naturally and freely to think about that do not involve an ounce of obsessing over wine.

YES, at one point I thought, Ooh, it’d be nice to have a glass of red right about now, when my boyfriend’s mother offered me one and then fixed one for herself–it’s the first time I’m meeting them, actually–but, it came and went and the evening continued on. All I could think was how calm I felt, how different I feel–I mean, really, I feel like I don’t even know that crazy drunk girl that I used to be–how normal it seems to just take events as they come and deal with the irritations, the laughter, the everything sober. There’s so much more out there. Oh, right, that’s called Life. Why, hello there, I remember you!

On that note, I’m going to hit the sack. I can’t wait to share more insights when I get back (Tuesday).

Thank you, friends, for being there every step of the way.

16 Responses to “180 days: check”

  1. Janet September 15, 2013 at 12:56 am #

    Congratulations! This is a huge accomplishment. Just what I needed to read tonight after white knuckling it through a party where people expect me to be clutching a glass of wine. I am 17 days sober and look forward to waking up tomorrow without a hang over!

    • Drunky Drunk Girl September 20, 2013 at 9:04 am #

      Hi, Janet,
      Thank you! 17 days and at a party? Oh, man, that is rough. CONGRATS to you, THAT is huge. I was 18 days (my very first time getting sober last June–I slipped a few times before I really got sober in October), and I went to a wedding. It was hard, but SO worth it. I felt so proud afterward–as should you. xx

  2. furtheron September 15, 2013 at 3:21 am #

    Congratulations. Good luck with the next 180…

    I have a friend who counted everyday for years he say “Today I’m grateful to not have had a drink and today is my 679th day sober” sadly he stopped but it was a true reflection of how much it meant to him.

    • Drunky Drunk Girl September 20, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      Thank you!

      (I haven’t set a new goal yet, but I figure, by the time I decide–and I’ll for sure keep on keepin’ on, no thoughts about switching course now, until then–the next 180 will probably have passed already. In fact it’s been almost a week, and I sort of like this new sober-but-not-counting-days thing…weird.)

  3. Amy September 15, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    I’m glad. 🙂

  4. changingcoursenow September 15, 2013 at 8:07 am #

    Such a nice post to read this morning. You sound healthy and grounded and happy. I’m really happy for you!

    • Drunky Drunk Girl September 20, 2013 at 9:00 am #

      Thank you! Not always, but yes to all three more of the time than not! LOL

  5. thirstystill September 15, 2013 at 10:47 am #

    Congratulations. Sounds like you’re doing really well. That’s so good to hear! I hope you enjoy the rest of your vacation.

    • Drunky Drunk Girl September 20, 2013 at 9:00 am #

      Thank you! Sounds like you’re doing really great, too. Keep it up!

  6. jenisthesoberist September 15, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    Congratulations, what a great accomplishment. Enjoy the rest of your trip! Peace, Jen

  7. Jen September 15, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    Woohoo! 180 days is awesome!

  8. Lilly September 18, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

    YAY yayyayyayyayyay! You have surpassed yourself and it is just getting better and better. I can hear it in your posts. You sound so strong and just… GOOD… right now. That is fanastic. It’s a motherfucking disco party of prancing unicorns with glitter raining down upon them in fact.

    I can’t believe I thought that I am right behind you at 139 days because not so long ago 42 days sober would have seemed like an impossible eternity. And I had to look at my iPhone app to work that out to so I know what you mean about when you become unaware of the exact days or even weeks – such a great shift.

    I am so pleased and proud of you.

    Lilly xoxo

    • Drunky Drunk Girl September 20, 2013 at 8:56 am #

      Prancing unicorns!!!

      I know, it’s weird (and a bit unsettling) how fast time seems to be going now. Or rather, like it’s just back to normal, speeding on by. I do feel GOOD, in that, I just don’t feel that bad anymore–LOL. It’s a relief to finally truly be able to think about other stuff (like work…yikes) and to not feel beholden/obsessed by thoughts of drinking. It’s not like it’s lost its lure completely, but…I just know that IF I drink, there will be tradeoffs, ones that I may or may not be ready to make. I’d rather just keep on, as I feel a momentum (of mind? of motivation? of spirit?) creeping up and I really worry that drinking (even once) could affect that.

      And, wow, you’re already at 139??? It seems like a few weeks ago that you were at 100? Major unicorn hugs coming your way, lovely friend! You’re doing so, so great.

      xx

Leave a Reply

Finding a Sober Miracle

A woman's quest for one year of sobriety

parking lot pushups

Because I will be stronger.

Dorothy Recovers

An evolving tale of a new life in recovery

Lose 'da Booze

MY Journey towards Losing 'da Booze Voice within and regaining self-control

Life Out of the Box

Buy a product, help a person in need + see your impact.

Laurie Works

Intuitive Tarot Guidance

Drunky Drunk Girl

A blog about getting sober

New Adventures of the Old Me...

A Woman,Mother, and Wife, makeing sense of life...

The Soberist Blog

a life in progress ... sans alcohol

soberjessie

Getting sober to be a better mother, wife, and friend

mentalrollercoaster

the musings and reflections of one person's mental amusement park

TRUDGING THROUGH THE FIRE

-Postcards from The Cauldron

Guitars and Life

Blog about life by a music obsessed middle aged recovering alcoholic from South East England

changingcoursenow

A woman's journey to happiness and health

Sober Identity

Sober Identity #Life Coach #The 50+ Years #Striving #Thriving #38-Empowering Affirmations #"Emerge: Growing From Addiction-Starter's Guide" #AfterRehabCoaching #Motivate

WELL CALL ME CRAZY

This WordPress.com site is about hope, trauma, hypocrisy, and transformation.

A Canvas Of The Minds

A unique collaboration of different perspectives on mental health and life

married to an alcoholic

life with an alcoholic husband

Life Unbuzzed

Rowing my sober boat gently down the stream

ChardonNo!

Original Goal: 100 Days of Sobriety - New Goal: 200 Days

Sober Grace

Finding and practicing grace in recovery

IRETA

Institute for Research, Education & Training in the Addictions

Mended Musings

Healing, Feeling, Thriving

Brandy Shock Treatment

Therapy for an alcoholic

Stinkin' Thinkin'

muckraking the 12-step industry

Sober Politico

Young and Sober, Surrounded by Egos and Alcohol

Carrie On Sober

A blog to help keep me on the right track...

My Healing Recovery

Healing from the inside

The Sober Journalist

A blog about quietly getting sober

mysterygirlunknown

My Desire for a New and Better Life

Arash Recovery

My journey to get back on my feet

Mished-up

Mixed-up, Mashed-up, Mished-up.

The Party Doesn't Leave the Girl

a memoir of sobriety...today.

Good2begone

I'm not really here.

Below Her Means

a little of everything.

themiracleisaroundthecorner

There are no coincidences.

The Red Sox Saved My Life

A peek into the recovery of another drunk.

1800ukillme

Just another WordPress.com site

The Existential Addict

One choice at a time...

Al K Hall-ic Anonymous

Get With The Program.

thinkingaboutgratitude

How gratitude has helped me stay sober, "one day at a time."

Living Life In Control

A journey into taking control of life and seeing what's on the other side of the mountain

A Life Less Scripted

Adventure Travel

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

UnPickled Blog

How I Secretly Quit My Secret Habit of Secretly Drinking

